Watch: Shubman Gill is picked for 31 by Param Uppal in Under-19 Worldcup Final

Spread the love

The India U-19 team had made news when they were knocked out in the group stage of Asia Cup after losing to Nepal by 19 runs. This happened just over two months back. The team has come a long way, bouncing back strongly, remaining unbeaten in the ICC Under-19 World Cup 2018. The Rahul Dravid-mentored and Prithvi Shaw-led side had shown their intent in the tournament when they defeated South Africa by a massive 189 runs in a warm-up match.

Prithvi Shaw and Australia’s Jason Sangha on the eve of the Under-19 World Cup final in Mount Maunganui, New Zealand. (BCCI Photo)

Ishan Porel, Shiva Singh, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Anukul Roy have shared the spoils and pushed Australia on the backfoot in the ICC Under 19 World Cup final at the Bay Oval on Saturday. Porel has dismissed Max Bryant and Jack Edwards and Nagarkoti has sent Jason Sangha packing while Anukul removed Param Uppal. Shiva then joined the party as he scalped the wickets of Nathan McSweeney and Will Sutherland. Jonathan Merlo and Baxter Holt are in the middle.

India have always been a power when it comes to the Under-19 World Cup, with three titles attesting to their credentials at this level. The current team, led by former India captain Rahul Dravid, stands on the verge of yet another record – that of winning the title for the fourth time. Facing them are Australia, who have an equally formidable history, as they too have won the crown three times. So whoever wins the clash at Mount Maunganui, New Zealand, today will become leaders in terms of Under-19 success. On current form, that looks like the Indian team. India have put in some impressive performances to win all their five matches including an emphatic 203-run win over arch-rivals Pakistan in the semi-final and a 100-run victory over Australia in their tournament-opener.

Here are the teams for the final:

India U-19: Prithvi Shaw(Captain), Manjot Kalra, Shubman Gill, Harvik Desai (wicketkeeper), Riyan Parag, Abhishek Sharma, Anukul Roy, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Shivam Mavi, Shiva Singh, Ishan Porel.

Australia U-19: Jack Edwards, Max Bryant, Jason Sangha (Captain), Jonathan Merlo, Param Uppal, Nathan McSweeney, Will Sutherland, Baxter J Holt (wicketkeeper), Zak Evans, Ryan Hadley, Lloyd Pope.

Shubman Gill bowled for 31 runs:

India lost the wicket of star batsman Shubman Gill , who was dismissed for 31 runs, earlier India lost the wicket of skipper Prithvi Shaw for 29 runs. India look set to clinch the Under-19 Cricket World Cup after restricting Australia to 216 in the final at the Bay Oval. Australia captain Jason Sangha opted to bat after winning the toss but his team was sluggish at the beginning.

Watch the Video:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *